30 August, 2018

Zurich crowns 16 Diamond Trophy winners

On Thursday night the meeting of Zürich played host to 16 IAAF Diamond League finals. Kipruto won the 3000m steeplechase despite losing a shoe.

Just one minute into the race Kipruto lost one of his shoes, but the Kenyan kept going and even managed to win the race. He held off Morocco's Soufiane El Bakkali in an exciting sprint and took home the

50,000 dollars as the winner of a Diamond League discipline. New Zealand's Tomas Walsh was one of the few shot putters who managed to get up to his best level after a gruelling season. Walsh reached 22m60, both a meeting and a Diamond League record.

Colombia's Caterine Ibargüen is the only athlete who is still gunning for the double jackpot. She won the triple jump with 14m56 and on Friday she aims to win her second discipline at the AG Memorial Van Damme in Brussels, where she will compete in the long jump.

Dutch athletes Dafne Schippers and Sifan Hassan also aimed for the double, but couldn’t take the win in Zurich. Schippers was fifth on the 100 metres in 11.15, which was won in 11.01 by Ivorian Murielle Ahouré. Hassan came second on the 5000 metres in 14:38.77, just 0.38 behind Kenya's Hellen Obiri. In Brussels Schippers will contest the

200 metres, while Hassan will take part in the 1500 metres.

South African Caster Semenya was unstoppable in the 800 metres, which she won in 1:55.27. On the men’s 1500 metres pre-race favourite Timothy Cheruiyot triumphed in 3:30.27. American Noah Lyles sped to a blistering 19.67 on the 200 metres, his compatriot Fred Kerley won the

400 metres in 44.80.

The last 15 Diamond League finales are scheduled on Friday night during the 42nd edition of the AG Memorial Van Damme, held in the King Baudouin Stadium of Brussels.

All Diamond League winners:


  • shot put: Tomas Walsh
  • long jump: Luvo Manyonga
  • javelin: Andreas Hoffman
  • 200 metres: Noah Lyles
  • 400 metres: Fred Kerley
  • 400 metres hurdles: Kyron McMaster
  • 1500 metres: Timothy Cheruiyot
  • 3000 metres steeplechase: Conseslus Kipruto


  • triple jump: Caterine Ibargüen
  • high jump: Mariya Lasitskene
  • pole vault: Katerina Stefanidi
  • javelin: Tatsiana Khaladovich
  • 100 metres: Murielle Ahoure
  • 400 metres hurdles: Dalilah Muhammad