22 April, 2013

2 events for disabled athletes in collaboration with the Belgian Paralympic Committee

Belgacom and the Memorial Van Damme continue to cooperate with the Belgian Paralympic Committee. In this year’s edition two events for disabled athletes will be scheduled.

Topping the bill is the 100m Wheelchair for Women where the Belgian Olympic double Olympic gold medal winner Marieke Vervoort will compete against the full Paralympic Final line up!

The Belgacom Memorial Van Damme will be the first athletics meeting where the Prize Money for the disabled athletes will be equal to that of the regular athletics events. The first three of each race will receive $5000, $3000 and $2000 respectively.

Double Paralympic Champion Marieke Vervoort will make her first appearance at the Belgacom Memorial Van Damme on September, 6th. She will face a tough challenge with all the 2012 Paralympic finalists having confirmed their presence in Brussels for a thrilling remake of that final.

Participants 100 m T52 women (including PB’s) :
Michelle Stilwell (CAN – 18”67)
Marieke Vervoort (BEL – 19”69)
Kerry Morgan (USA – 20”22)
Cassie Mitchell (USA – 20”86)
Cheryl Leitner (USA – 21”64)
Teruyo Tanaka (JAP – 22”15)
Yuka Kiyama (JAP – 24”28)